Washington, D.C. – House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Howard L. Berman (D-CA), together with Ranking Member Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), today introduced a joint resolution of disapproval to fulfill a statutory requirement for consideration of the proposed U.S.-Russia civilian nuclear cooperation agreement that the Administration has submitted to Congress.

The Atomic Energy Act of 1954 requires the introduction of a resolution of approval or disapproval at the start of the 60-day congressional review period for such an agreement, which begins today.

“This is a very complicated issue, upon which we’ve held one hearing,” Berman said. “There are some good arguments for the agreement, and some good ones against it. But for me, this all boils down to one essential question: Will moving forward with this agreement help us in our efforts to persuade Iran to stop pursuing a nuclear weapons program?

“I chose to introduce a resolution of disapproval today because I want the Administration to understand that I will not support the agreement until that question – on the most critical foreign policy issue facing our nation today – is answered to my satisfaction.''

Click here to read the resolution.

Related Coverage
Click here to read the resolution.
Associated Press coverage