Media Contact 202-226-8467

Washington, D.C. — Today, House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Michael McCaul (R-TX), House Foreign Affairs Committee Ranking Member Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY), Subcommittee on Indo-Pacific Chairwoman Young Kim (R-CA), and Subcommittee on Indo-Pacific Ranking Member Ami Bera, M.D. (D-CA) issued the following statement on Taiwan’s election:

“We congratulate the people of Taiwan for completing their eighth democratic presidential election. Today’s election is another milestone for Taiwan’s vibrant and robust democracy. We condemn Beijing’s attempts to influence the elections through disinformation and military pressure and applaud the people of Taiwan for upholding democratic ideals. We look forward to working with President-elect Lai and Vice President-elect Hsiao to enhance the U.S.-Taiwan economic, cultural, and defense relationship.”