Media Contact 202-226-8467

Washington, D.C. – Today, House Foreign Affairs Committee Lead Republican Michael McCaul (R-TX) and Chairman Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY) along with the Subcommittee on Asia, the Pacific, Central Asia, and Nonproliferation Lead Republican Steve Chabot (R-OH) and Chairman Ami Bera (D-CA) released the following joint statement regarding the one-year anniversary of the mass arrests of Hong Kong pro-democracy leaders.

“Today marks one year since the arbitrary and illegitimate detention of 47 leading pro-democracy figures in Hong Kong. On February 28, 2021, using Beijing’s draconian and illegitimate National Security Law, Hong Kong authorities took the unprecedented step of charging these pro-democracy figures with “conspiracy to commit subversion” simply for participating in a primary election for pro-democracy candidates. A year later, the majority of the 47 activists remain behind bars, having been denied bail before their trials begin.

“We stand firmly in support of these pro-democracy leaders and the Hong Kong people as they continue to fight against political persecution and demand the rights and freedoms promised to them in the Joint Declaration and the Basic Law. Hong Kong authorities must take steps to immediately release all those arbitrarily detained and drop all charges against them. The resolve of the Hong Kong people has not wavered in the face of Beijing’s repression and injustice. The international community needs to stand with Hong Kongers and hold Beijing accountable for violating its international treaty obligations guaranteeing Hong Kong’s autonomy, restricting fundamental freedoms, and eroding the rule of law.”