Media Contact 202-226-8467

Washington, D.C. – Today, House Foreign Affairs Committee Lead Republican and Chairman of the China Task Force Michael McCaul, joined by 36 House Republican colleagues, introduced the Taiwan Policy Act. This legislation will strengthen Taiwan’s defense and deter the aggression of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) by:

  • Establishing a comprehensive set of tools to increase Taiwan’s military capabilities to deter and defeat a CCP attack.
  • Modernizing U.S. policy towards Taiwan
  • Increasing the United States’ strategic clarity towards a CCP invasion
  • Strengthening U.S.-Taiwan bilateral relations, and
  • Supporting Taiwan internationally.

Similar legislation was recently approved by the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

“Taiwan is a critical national security partner for the United States whose democracy is under an unprecedented level of threat from the CCP,” said Lead Republican McCaul. “Now is the time to arm our ally – before an invasion occurs, not after. I’m proud to introduce this important legislation with 36 colleagues to help improve Taiwan’s defense immediately. Deterrence is key to stopping the CCP from provoking a conflict that would seriously harm U.S. national security.”

Original co-sponsors include Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01), Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02), Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03), Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08), Rep. Tim Burchett (TN-02), Rep. Bill Johnson (OH-06), Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16), Rep. Thomas Tiffany (WI-07), Rep. Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Rep. John Curtis (UT-03), Rep. Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Rep. Mariannette Miller Meeks (IA-02), Rep. Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen (AS), Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Rep. Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Rep. Mark Green (TN-07), Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Rep. Andy Barr (KY-06), Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-50), Rep. Young Kim (CA-39), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Rep. Daniel Meuser (PA-09), Rep. Buddy Carter (GA-01), Rep. Steve Womack (AR-03), Rep. Nancy Mace (SC-01), Rep. Chris Smith (NJ-04), Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-02), Rep. Michael Waltz (FL-06), Rep. Lance Gooden (TX-05), Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03), Rep. Pat Fallon (TX-04), Rep. Ashley Hinson (IA-01), Rep. Ben Cline (VA-06), Rep. John Katko (NY-24) and Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11).

Click here to view a summary of the Taiwan Policy Act