Washington, D.C. – Today, the House Foreign Affairs Committee, chaired by U.S. Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA), unanimously passed eight foreign affairs measures, including a resolution condemning Russia’s aggression against its neighbors and legislation to improve the Rewards for Justice program, and to combat Ebola in West Africa.

The Committee passed H. Res. 758 (introduced by Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)), as amended, strongly condemning Russia’s continuing political, military, and economic aggression against Ukraine, as well as Georgia and Moldova.

Upon passage, Chairman Royce said:  “This Committee has again condemned the various aggressions of Vladimir Putin against his neighbors, including Ukraine, Georgia, and Moldova.  Unfortunately, the sanctions imposed on Moscow by the Obama Administration and others have not yet convinced Putin to reverse course and end his aggression against Ukraine.  We need more pressure.”

Also, the Committee passed H.R. 5685, the Rewards for Justice Congressional Notification Act (introduced by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)), requiring the State Department to notify Congress within 15 days after a reward is authorized under the Rewards for Justice Program.

Upon passage, Chairman Royce said:  “This important legislation will ensure that Congress is kept fully informed of developments in the State Department’s Rewards for Justice program, which offers rewards for information leading to the apprehension of terror suspects.  I had successful legislation last Congress to expand this program, and the legislation the Committee passed today adds critical oversight to this important program.”

Also, the Committee passed H.R. 5710, the Ebola Emergency Response Act (introduced by Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)), as amended, authorizing emergency assistance for countries affected by or at risk of being affected by Ebola.

Upon passage, Chairman Royce said:  “Though there are signs of progress in Liberia, the Ebola epidemic continues to spread throughout West Africa, leaving a trail of human and economic destruction in its wake.  It is clearly in the interests of the United States to support a coordinated international effort, to contain the outbreak at its source.  This legislation provides a framework for that response as we work to combat and contain Ebola in West Africa.”    

Additionally, the Committee passed:

H.R. 5241, the Crimea Annexation Non-Recognition Act (introduced by Rep. Gerald Connolly (D-VA)) to prohibit United States Government recognition of Russia’s annexation of Crimea;

H.R. 2901, Water for the World Act (introduced by Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)), as amended, to strengthen implementation of the Senator Paul Simon Water for the Poor Act of 2005 by improving the capacity of the United States Government to implement, leverage, and monitor and evaluate programs to provide first-time or improved access to safe drinking water, sanitation, and hygiene to the world’s poorest on an equitable and sustainable basis;

H.R. 5656, the Global Food Security Act (introduced by Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)), as amended, to authorize the Feed the Future Initiative to reduce global poverty and hunger in developing countries on a sustainable basis;

H.Res. 714 (introduced by Congressman Eni F.H. Faleomavaega (D-AS)), as amended, reaffirming the need for peaceful and collaborative resolution of maritime and jurisdictional disputes in the South China Sea and the East China Sea as provided for by universally recognized principles of international law, and reaffirming the strong support of the United States Government for freedom of navigation and other internationally lawful uses of sea and airspace in the Asia-Pacific region;

H.R. 5206 (introduced by Rep. Alan Grayson (D-FL)), as amended, to allow Foreign Service and other executive agency employees to designate beneficiaries of their death benefits.

A summary of the Committee action, including adopted amendments, will be available HERE.