WASHINGTON—Yesterday, Representative Eliot L. Engel, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs and a former Chairman of the Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere, received an award from Caribbean-Central American Action (CCAA) along with his colleague and Chairman Emeritus Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) for their leadership in authoring the U.S.-Caribbean Strategic Engagement Act (H.R. 4939), which was signed into law by President Barack Obama on December 16, 2016. Other lawmakers who attended the event included Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA), Rep. Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY), Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Rep. Stacey Plaskett (D-VI), Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA), and former Congresswoman from the U.S. Virgin Islands, Donna Christensen.

For high resolution versions of photos from the event, please contact the Foreign Affairs Committee Democratic Press Office.