March 20, 2007

Contact: Lynne Weil, 202-225-5021

Washington, DC – Chairman Tom Lantos (D-CA) of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs today announced the names of seven subcommittee vice chairs who will take on a wide range of responsibilities.

“I am proud that this diverse and talented group of our colleagues has stepped forward for leadership roles on their subcommittees,” Lantos said. “They bring expertise and years of experience in the public and private sectors to the job.”

The new subcommittee vice chairs are:

Africa and Global Health – Diane E. Watson (CA)

Asia, the Pacific and the Global Environment – Gregory W. Meeks (NY)

Europe – Brad Miller (NC)

International Organizations, Human Rights and Oversight – Russ Carnahan (MO)

Middle East and South Asia – Ron Klein (FL)

Terrorism, Nonproliferation and Trade – David Scott (GA)

Western Hemisphere – Albio Sires (NJ)

Two of the new vice chairs, Reps. Klein and Sires, are first-term members of Congress. They and Reps. Miller and Scott joined the committee in January.


# # #