Washington, D.C. – Today, the House Foreign Affairs Committee, chaired by Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA), passed nine bipartisan measures, including the Israel Anti-Boycott Act (H.R. 1697), as amended.

On H.R. 1697, as amended, Chairman Royce said: This bill, sponsored by Reps. Roskam and Vargas, prohibits U.S. companies from participating in boycotts promoted by international organizations, like the U.N., that target U.S. partners, like Israel.”

Additionally, the committee passed the following measures:

  • As amended, H. Res. 256, introduced by Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), which expresses support for the countries of Eastern Europe and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization;
  • As amended, H. Res. 944, introduced by Rep. Norma Torres (D-CA), which expresses solidarity with and sympathy for the people of Guatemala after the June 3, 2018, eruption of the Fuego Volcano;
  • As amended, H.R. 4969, Improving Embassy Design and Security Act of 2018, introduced by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX), which improves the design and construction of diplomatic posts;
  • As amended, H.R. 5576, Cyber Deterrence and Response Act of 2018, introduced by Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL), which addresses state-sponsored cyber activities against the United States; 
  • As amended, H.R. 5898, UNRWA Accountability Act of 2018, introduced by Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI), which requires the Secretary of State to develop a strategy on administration policy regarding UNRWA;
  • H.R. 6197, Rescuing Animals With Rewards Act of 2018, introduced by Rep. Dan Donovan (R-NY), which authorizes rewards to thwart wildlife trafficking linked to transnational organized crime;  
  • As amended, H.R. 6207, Democratic Republic of the Congo Democracy and Accountability Act of 2018, introduced by Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ), which supports democracy and accountability in the Democratic Republic of the Congo; and
  • H. Con. Res. 20, introduced by Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY), which expresses the sense of the House of Representatives regarding the execution-style murders of United States citizens Ylli, Agron, and Mehmet Bytyqi in the Republic of Serbia in July 1999.

A summary of the committee action, including adopted amendments, will be available HERE.