Washington, D.C. – House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Ed Royce (CA-39) and House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23) released the following statement on an agreement between the House and Senate to impose sanctions on Iran, Russia, and North Korea:

“North Korea, Iran, and Russia have in different ways all threatened their neighbors and actively sought to undermine American interests. Earlier this year the House passed sanctions on North Korea by a vote of 419-1. Several weeks ago, the Senate passed sanctions legislation on Iran and Russia. Following that vote, the House worked diligently with our colleagues in the Senate to strengthen the bill with the inclusion of the House-passed sanctions that target the Kim regime’s ballistic missile program, which could soon put American cities within range of a nuclear attack. We also addressed original provisions that would have punished American job creators while benefiting a growing Russian energy oligarchy. Additionally, we help bolster the energy security of our European allies by maintaining their access to key energy resources outside of Russia. The bill the House will vote on next week will now exclusively focus on these nations and hold them accountable for their dangerous actions.”