Media Contact 202-226-8467

Washington, D.C.- Congressman Michael McCaul, Republican Leader on the House Foreign Affairs Committee, as well as Representatives Adam Kinzinger, (R-IL), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Rob Bishop (R-UT), Denny Heck (D-WA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Mike Turner (R-OH), and Steve Womack (R-AR) released the following statement on yesterday’s announcement that the Department of State has updated the public guidance for Section 232 of the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act. This decision clarifies that sanctions may be imposed on companies involved in the construction of the Russian Nord Stream 2 and TurkStream 2 energy pipelines. 

“We welcome the State Department’s decision to put companies involved in the construction of the Nord Stream 2 and TurkStream 2 pipelines on notice. Any company that supports Putin’s efforts to weaponize Russian energy resources and enrich his regime must face consequences. 

“However, while this is a very positive development, it does not obviate the need for the sanctions mandated by Congress last year on the pipelaying vessels required to complete these Russian pipelines. It also does not abolish the need for the expanded sanctions called for in the Protecting Europe’s Energy Security Clarification Act, which we have co-sponsored. These new sanctions would reinforce the administration’s necessary policy of stopping the completion of Nord Stream 2. If gas is allowed to flow through this pipeline, it will leave our European allies and partners more vulnerable to Russian coercion.

We remain fully committed to working with our European friends to push back against Russian aggression and to support energy projects that enhance European energy security.”